![]()

Guide finds that Volume Pills' label discloses an individual amount for only one of 24 listed ingredients — zinc — leaving consumers unable to compare 23 botanical ingredients against the doses used in published research
VANCOUVER, British Columbia — September 25, 2026 — Leading Edge Health has published a consumer guide showing that its own Volume Pills tablets disclose an individual amount for only one of 24 listed ingredients, zinc, with the remaining 23 combined into an undisclosed-amount proprietary blend. This lack of disclosure raises concerns about consumers’ ability to evaluate the formula against independent research.
“People are increasingly asking what a proprietary blend actually tells them, and the honest answer is: not much on its own,” said Kevin Shaw, Product Head at Volume Pills. “We wanted to walk through our own label the way we’d want a consumer to — checking what’s individually disclosed, what’s combined, and what the published research on each named ingredient does and doesn’t show.”
Why the Disclosure Gap Matters
The absence of individual amounts makes it difficult for consumers to assess the adequacy of ingredient doses based on published research — a distinction relevant to informed purchasing decisions and, for ingredients like reishi and bladderwrack, to potential medication interactions and thyroid-related iodine exposure. Published Supplement Facts information lists 24 mg of zinc individually against the National Institutes of Health’s recommended 11 mg daily allowance for adult men, while ingredients including Arjuna, reishi, amla, bladderwrack and cordyceps sit inside a 1,458-milligram blend with no individual amounts disclosed.[1]
The guide highlights one specific research finding to illustrate the risk of assuming an ingredient’s presence implies a benefit: a randomized controlled trial of 22 trained cyclists found 3 grams daily of a specific cordyceps preparation produced no significant improvement over placebo in aerobic capacity or endurance performance.[2] The lack of disclosure on cordyceps content means that findings from studies cannot be directly applied to the product.
How to Read a Proprietary Blend on Any Supplement Label
Regardless of brand, a few questions apply to any product listing a combined or proprietary blend:
-
Does each ingredient carry its own individually listed amount, or are several ingredients grouped into one combined weight?
-
What is the total blend weight, and how does it compare to the doses used in the research cited for those ingredients?
-
Were the cited studies conducted on the ingredient alone, at a specific dose, or on the combined finished product?
-
Does the label information match current marketing materials, or has the formula changed since older claims were published?
-
Is professional medical guidance advised for anyone taking prescription medication or managing an existing condition?
Applying those questions to Volume Pills illustrates the pattern.
Individual Ingredient Studies vs. the Finished Formula
Volume Pills is supplied as tablets, with a labeled serving of two tablets. Published Supplement Facts information lists 24 mg of zinc individually, while the remaining ingredients — Arjuna, Ling Zhi (reishi), Emblica officinalis (amla), Fucus vesiculosus (bladderwrack), Rou Gui (cinnamon bark), Tian Men Dong, Xian Mao, Dong Chong Xia Cao (cordyceps), Ku Gua (bitter melon), Hong Hua Fen and additional plant-derived components — are combined within a 1,458-milligram blend without individual amounts disclosed. Every study discussed below examined a single botanical or nutrient in isolation, at a specific disclosed dose, in a specific study population — not the 1,482-milligram combined formula (24 mg of disclosed zinc plus the undisclosed-amount botanical blend) as sold. That distinction is the guide’s starting point for weighing any of the ingredient-level findings that follow.

Zinc: An Established Nutrient With Defined Intake Guidelines
Zinc is the one component individually quantified on the label. The National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements states that zinc participates in cellular metabolism, is required for the activity of hundreds of enzymes, and contributes to protein synthesis, DNA synthesis, cell signaling, wound healing and normal immune function.[1] NIH lists a Recommended Dietary Allowance of 11 mg per day for adult men and a tolerable upper intake level of 40 mg per day from food and supplements combined — meaning Volume Pills’ 24 mg dose should be weighed against a consumer’s total daily zinc intake from other sources. NIH also notes that prolonged intake of 50 mg or more of supplemental zinc daily can interfere with copper absorption, and that zinc can interact with quinolone and tetracycline antibiotics and with penicillamine.
For more information, visit the official website VolumePills.com.
Dong Chong Xia Cao (Cordyceps): A Null Result Worth Including
A randomized controlled trial of 22 trained male cyclists evaluated 3 grams per day of a specific cordyceps preparation (CordyMax Cs-4) for five weeks, measuring aerobic capacity, ventilatory threshold and endurance time-trial performance.[2] The study found no significant improvement over placebo on aerobic capacity or endurance performance — a result the guide includes specifically because it demonstrates why a traditional botanical’s presence on a label should not be read as evidence of an effect. Because Volume Pills does not disclose how much Dong Chong Xia Cao its blend contains, this finding — whether positive, neutral or negative — cannot be transferred to the finished product either way.
Ling Zhi (Reishi): Traditional Use and Safety Considerations
Ling Zhi refers to reishi mushroom (Ganoderma lucidum). Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s database notes research on compounds including beta-glucan polysaccharides and triterpenes, alongside safety considerations: reported adverse effects include nausea and difficulty sleeping, rare cases of liver injury, and a documented bleeding-risk interaction for people taking anticoagulant or antiplatelet medications, plus concerns for those using immunosuppressive medicines.[3] Volume Pills’ label does not disclose reishi’s individual amount within the blend.
Emblica Officinalis (Amla): A Small Trial, Not a Product Trial
A randomized, double-blind, crossover, placebo-controlled study gave 15 healthy adults 500 mg of amla daily and examined vascular, blood, oxidative-stress, glucose and lipid measures.[4] The small sample size, the isolated preparation, and the undisclosed amount of amla in Volume Pills’ blend all limit how directly this research applies to the finished product.
Arjuna: Studies in Cardiac Patients, Not Healthy Adults
Terminalia arjuna bark has been studied in adults with diagnosed coronary heart disease — one trial gave 500 mg daily to patients alongside placebo and vitamin E arms, measuring lipid and oxidative-stress markers after 30 days; another examined 500 mg twice daily in patients with stable coronary artery disease receiving concurrent medical treatment.[5][6] Both studies involved diagnosed cardiac patients under medical protocols, a materially different population than healthy adults taking a wellness supplement, and neither can be generalized to Volume Pills given the undisclosed blend amount.
Fucus Vesiculosus (Bladderwrack): Iodine Variability
Bladderwrack is a seaweed, and seaweeds vary considerably in iodine content by species and product.[7] NIH lists a tolerable upper intake level of 1,100 micrograms of iodine daily from food and supplements; both inadequate and excessive iodine intake can affect thyroid function. Volume Pills’ label does not separately disclose bladderwrack’s amount or an attributable iodine quantity — a gap the guide flags specifically for consumers managing thyroid conditions, taking thyroid medication, or using other iodine-containing supplements.
Additional Botanicals
Rou Gui (cinnamon bark), Ku Gua (bitter melon), Xian Mao and Tian Men Dong each carry traditional-use histories with varying degrees of modern human research — cinnamon and bitter melon research varies by species and preparation, while Xian Mao and Tian Men Dong’s literature is weighted toward traditional use, laboratory work and animal models rather than large controlled human trials. Hong Hua Fen, 4′,5,7-trihydroxyflavone, and the proprietary names Solidilin and Drilizen appear on the label without individually disclosed quantities.
“A study involving 500 mg of one botanical cannot tell us what that ingredient contributes when its individual amount within a combined blend isn’t disclosed,” Shaw said. “That’s the same question we’d want any consumer asking about any supplement label, not just ours.”
Manufacturing and Label Currency
Consumers should use the current physical Supplement Facts panel as the definitive source for serving instructions, ingredient information and warnings, since formulas and label specifications can change over time independent of older marketing materials.
Safety Considerations
The company advises that people taking prescription medication, managing thyroid or liver conditions, or taking anticoagulant, antiplatelet or immunosuppressive medications consult a healthcare professional before use, given documented interaction risks associated with reishi and variable iodine content in bladderwrack.[3]
Frequently Asked Questions
Has the complete Volume Pills formula been independently tested? Individual amounts for the botanical blend are not disclosed on the current label, so no study of the finished formula as sold was identified for this guide; each study cited examined a single ingredient in isolation, at its own disclosed dose.
Does Volume Pills disclose individual botanical amounts? Zinc is disclosed at 24 mg; the remaining ingredients are combined within a 1,458 mg proprietary blend without individual amounts.
Does the cordyceps research support a specific benefit? No — the cited trial found no significant improvement over placebo, and is included specifically to illustrate why a botanical’s presence shouldn’t be assumed to indicate an effect.
Who should consult a doctor before use? Anyone taking prescription medication, managing thyroid or liver conditions, or taking anticoagulant, antiplatelet or immunosuppressive medications.
About Volume Pills
Leading Edge Health is a Canadian health and wellness company established in 2001 and based in Victoria, British Columbia, developing and distributing dietary supplements internationally, including Volume Pills, a men’s daily wellness supplement combining zinc with a multi-botanical blend.
References
[1] National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements — Zinc: Health Professional Fact Sheet.
[2] Parcell AC, Smith JM, Schulthies SS, Myrer JW, Fellingham G. Cordyceps Sinensis (CordyMax Cs-4) supplementation does not improve endurance exercise performance. International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism. 2004;14(2):236-242.
[3] Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center — Reishi Mushroom.
[4] Kapoor MP, et al. Clinical evaluation of Emblica officinalis in healthy human subjects. Contemporary Clinical Trials Communications. 2019;17:100499.
[5] Gupta R, Singhal S, Goyle A, Sharma VN. Antioxidant and hypocholesterolaemic effects of Terminalia arjuna tree-bark powder. Journal of the Association of Physicians of India. 2001.
[6] Kapoor D, et al. Short-Term Adjuvant Therapy with Terminalia arjuna Attenuates Ongoing Inflammation and Immune Imbalance in Patients with Stable Coronary Artery Disease. Journal of Cardiovascular Translational Research. 2015.
[7] National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements — Iodine: Health Professional Fact Sheet.
Media Contact
Kevin Shaw, Product Head
Volume Pills, Leading Edge Health
300-1095 McKenzie Avenue, Victoria, BC V8P 2L5
Email: support@volumepills.com
Website: volumepills.com
Disclaimer: These statements have not been evaluated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Volume Pills is a dietary supplement and is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Research referenced in this release concerns individual ingredients studied independently and does not constitute clinical evaluation of the complete Volume Pills formulation or endorsement by the cited researchers, journals or institutions.